ICDE Executive Committee - Introducing the leadership of ICDE from January 2016
Written by Caroline Caroline   
Wednesday, October 14, 2015 12:00 AM

ICDE Executive Committee - Introducing the leadership of ICDE from January 2016

The members of ICDE have voted and the results are in!

Prof. Asha Singh Kanwar and Prof. Belinda Tynan have been elected to join the ICDE Executive Committee as institutional representatives. Prof. Alan Tait, who is currently an institutional representative of the Executive Committee, was elected by the individual members to be the individual representative. They will join Prof. Mandla S. Makhanya, Dr. Yang Zhijian and Mr. Maxim Jean-Louis as the Executive Committee of ICDE from January 2016.

Prof. Tian Belawati, the current President of ICDE, and Marta Mena, Executive Committee member (individual representative) will complete their terms in the Executive Committee by end-2015. Both Tian and Marta served two periods (8 years), which is the limit set by the Constitution.

According to the Constitution of ICDE, the Executive Committee will elect the chair amongst its members who will also be the President of ICDE. This will take place at the first Executive Committee meeting for 2016, scheduled for January.

ICDE members can get the full result from the election on the ICDE extranet.

Prof. Asha Singh Kanwar

President & Chief Executive Officer, Commonwealth of Learning. Executive Committee member 2016-2019.

Professor Asha Singh Kanwar became President and Chief Executive Officer of the Commonwealth of Learning (COL) on 1 June 2012. She has served COL for 12 years, first as an Education Specialist – Higher Education and Policy and then as its Vice President for six years.

Before joining COL, Professor Kanwar was a consultant in open and distance learning at UNESCO’s Regional Office for Education in Africa (BREDA) in Dakar, Senegal. She has over 30 years of experience in teaching, research and administration.

Professor Kanwar received the International Council for Open and Distance Education (ICDE) Prize of Excellence in 2009. In 2014, she received the AAOU Meritorious Service Award for outstanding contributions in the areas of open and distance education. She has been awarded honorary doctorates by two universities.

For more information about the ICDE Executive Committee click here