ICDE announces new Board of Trustees


ICDE is pleased to announce that the new Board of Trustees have been elected.

While the Executive Committee leads ICDE and is responsible for making policy decisions in accordance with ICDE’s mission and constitution, the Board of Trustees advises the Executive Committee, and monitors the conduct of the Secretary General, the President and members of the Executive Committee and is composed of five members who aim to reflect the diversity of the ICDE membership culturally, linguistically and geographically, as well as in the expertise of its members.

From 2017 the new Board of Trustees are:

  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Helmut Hoyer: Chair of the Board of Trustees

  • Morten Flate Paulsen: Board of Trustees Vice Chair

  • Professor Tian Belawati

  • Professor Stavros P Xanthopoylos

  • Professor Meg Benke

Board of Trustees handover meeting 

On the 2nd February, the outgoing ICDE Board of Trustees Chair and Vice Chair conducted a hand over meeting with the new incoming BOT Chair and Vice Chair at a face to face meeting in Oslo, Norway. This was a valuable exercise on learning about the history of ICDE, the role and responsibilities of the Board of Trustees and also provided the new BoT with the opportunity to meet with ICDE staff and to meet with the Chair of the ICDE Election Committee. 

A warm thank you to the members of the outgoing Board of Trustees

ICDE would like to take this opportunity to also give a warm thanks to the members of the outgoing Board of Trustees for their hard work and dedication to ICDE.

  • David Sewart, Former President ICDE; Former Director, Student Services, The Open University, UK (Chair)

  • Svein Haaland, Former Rector, Lillehammer University College, Norway (Vice-Chair)

  • Umarany Coomaraswamy, Former Vice Chancellor, The Open University of Sri Lanka

  • Susan D'Antoni, Former Programme Specialist, the UNESCO International Institute for Educational Planning, and the UNESCO Education Division

  • Fredric Michael Litto, Founding President, Brazilian Association for Distance Education— ABED

NewsRita Chan