Election of 3 institutional members for the ICDE Executive Committee 2018 - 2021.

Institutional members of ICDE are invited to put forward names from their institution or names of other ICDE members for the election of three members to the next Executive Committee. Three institutional members of the ICDE Executive Committee shall be elected for a new period from 2018-2021.

The term of office of three present members of the Executive Committee comes to an end on 31st December 2017.

  • Maxim Jean-Louis, Contact North, Contact Nord, Canada (re-eligible)

  • Mandla S. Makhanya, The University of South Africa (UNISA), South Africa (elected for two years, 2012 – 2013, re-elected 2013 – 2017. Cannot be re-elected)

  • Yang Zhijian, The Open University of China, China (elected for two years, 2012 – 2013,re-elected 2013 – 2017. Cannot be re-elected)

The other three members of the present Executive Committee whose terms continue until the end of 2019, are:

  • Asha Singh Kanwar, Commonwealth of Learning, Canada (2016 – 2019)

  • Belinda Tynan, RMIT University, Australia. (2016 – 2019)

  • Alan William Tait, Individual member, United Kingdom. (2016 – 2019)

The ICDE Constitution states:
“6.3 The ICDE Executive Committee shall be comprised of 6 elected members of whom 1 shall be elected by individual members and 5 by institutional members.”


The ICDE Election Committee is responsible for this process and has agreed a schedule as follows:

1st June

Opening of period for submission of candidatures

22nd June 15.00 CEST

Closure of period for submitting candidatures

28th August

Suggested candidate list from Election Committee presented

4th September 15.00 CEST

Notification to members of names of candidates and the process of voting begins

22nd September 15.00 CEST

Close of ballot

16th October

Announcement of results

1st January 2018

New Executive Committee takes office


Detailed information on the rules and methodology for the election of the Executive Committee will be given on the members’ section of the ICDE website, before the voting process begins. This information may also be requested from the ICDE Secretariat icde@icde.org. Please find hereafter a short overview of the most important points:

  1. The Executive Committee is responsible for making policy decisions in accordance with ICDE’s mission and constitution. It is comprised of 6 elected members of whom 1 shall be elected by the individual members and 5 by the institutional members.

  2. Candidates to the Executive Committee positions must be ordinary members of ICDE, i.e. nominated candidates must be either individual members of ICDE or belong to an institutional member of ICDE.

  3. The nominations must be sent electronically (in pdf or word format) using the attached form, and they must include a short biography, short statement of vision and priorities, contact details, a photo and confirmation to cover participation expenses, if elected.

  4. Members are encouraged, when nominating candidates, to consider the need for good representation from all regions, both genders and all types of ICDE membership.

  5. Nominations must be sent by e-mail to elections.2017@icde.org. They must be received at this Election Committee e-mail address not later than 22 June, 15.00 CEST.

  6. Following the receipt of nominations, elections will be undertaken among the ICDE membership from 4th September to 22nd September, 15.00 CEST, by an electronic voting system. Details of the voting mechanism which has been adopted will be sent to all members with the list of candidates on 4th September.

  7. The official results of the election will be circulated to members and published on the members’ section of the ICDE website, on 16th October 2017.

Following the spirit of the Constitution, the newly elected members of the Executive Committee will take office on 1 January 2018.

We look forward to receiving your responses to this Call for Nominations.
Yours sincerely,

ICDE Election Committee

Ingeborg Boe, Chair